GoGoGo!

Evening all.

So, today is the day. It took a bit longer than I’d hoped (the fact that I’m also needing to earn a living through my other freelance projects kept getting in the way!) but SelfSelfSelf is go!

We will hopefully be rapidly expanding over the next few months, as more distributors and authors come on board; the more we can promote each other the quicker progress we can all make. I will try and keep this blog updated more regularly in future, not only with developments at SelfSelfSelf, but with information about the wider world of eBooks in general.

For example, today I’ve been playing with the new Amazon KindleGen software. This is a command-line run piece of software; I suddenly feel like I’m 13 again having to use MS-DOS in order to play Wolfenstein 3D! (geek reference…). But I’ve got to get to grips with this stuff.

I’ll also post about new authors and new titles (I have our first published title on the way very soon), as well as possibly more general tech things. But then, nerds do rule the world these days…

I look forward to receiving your writings.

6 responses to “GoGoGo!

  • Susi Holliday (@SJIHolliday)

    It sounds great, Ben – looking forward to hearing more about your first published title 🙂 Quick question for you… do you also prep books for submission to places like Lulu.com, where you can can also get POD print copies? I can’t seem to find any proper UK versions of this sort of service. Lulu is fine, but because it’s US based, it takes a long time to get the books. I did a short story on there a while back and am thinking of doing a little anthology soon and I’d like to do it eBook and real book without upfront outlay… thoughts?

    • Ben@SelfSelfSelf

      Hi Susi, I’m afraid I can’t offer to prep books for print as part of the SelfSelfSelf service. This is because the rights for the eBook files (not the actual written content) remain with SelfSelfSelf and cannot be used outside of the service without special agreement. Given that the agreement with us is non-exclusive and can be terminated by the author at any time – with a month’s notice – this condition has to remain in place, otherwise no-one would stay with us; we’d essentially end up being a free eBook conversion service! I hope you can understand.

      Having said all that, one of the generated eBook files is a PDF, which would be almost ready for print. It may be possible to come to some arrangement, although I couldn’t do it for free I’m afraid.

      Thanks very much for your input!

  • Susi Holliday (@SJIHolliday)

    Thanks, makes sense… I will get back to you when I have something ready to run with and we can see what we can do 🙂

  • Jacqueline Pye

    Is your ‘commission’ rate 20%? Thought you mentioned 15 originally. Forgive my querying!

    • Ben@SelfSelfSelf

      Hi Jacqueline,

      No, it’s 15% and will remain so. I had originally intended to do 20% (and it’s mentioned as such in the previous blog post) but after a bit more market research I decided to go to 15% instead.

      Thanks!

What do you think?

